- What can I find in the statistics overview?
In the statistics overview, you will find the number of sent mails, the number of contacts who have opened your mail, the number of contacts who clicked a link in your mail, the number of undeliverable mails, the total number of unsubscriptions and the number of mails labeled "spam".
- What does "Open ratio" mean in the campaign statistics?
The open ratio is the amount of recipients who opened your email. If you were to put this in a formula, this would be the total number of uniquely opened emails divided by the total number of delivered emails. The open ratio is generally considered as one of the most important indicators to determine the success of your campaign.
International research has shown that a campaign can be considered a success when between 15% en 35% of all recipients open the newsletter. Obviously, all of this depends on the industry you are active in and/or the mail addresses to which you sent a campaign. Naturally, cold mailings will have a lower open ratio then lists that existed for a longer time and that receive frequent mails with relevant information.
The subject of your campaign can positively influence the open ratio of your e-mail campaign.The more attractive the subject, the more people of your target audience will open the mail. So think hard about your subject! Personalisation in your subject line can also lead to an increased open ratio. Experiment with what works best for your target audience!
- What does "CTR" mean in the campaign statistics?
The Click-Through-Rate or CTR is the share of recipients who clicked on a link after opening an e-mail. You might also encounter the term "Click Frequency". If you were to put this in a formula, this would be the total unique contacts who clicked a link in your mail divided by the number of delivered mails (delivered mails = the total amount of sent mails reduced by the amount of bounces).
Note: if your have between 1% and 5% (or more) e-mail recipients that click on a link in order to find out more, then you are scoring well.
- Can I Add Google Analytics Tracking To My Email Campaigns?
If you use Google Analytics on your website, you can actually track clicks from your Sendtex email campaigns all the way to purchases on your website. Sendtex can do this automatically for you, giving you a better picture of your email marketing return on investment.
You must first create a Google Analytics account and set this up on your website. Be sure to set it so that it may track conversions. Afterwards, here is how you use Google Analytics with Sendtex:
- Log into your Sendtex Email account app.sendtex.com
- Click the gear icon in the top right corner and open your settings menu
- Click campaign settings and turn on “Google Analytics™ URL Tracking”
Sendtex will now automatically add utm_tags to all your URLs so that Google Analytics can track your email recipients.
Here is how to locate them within Google Analytics:
1. Log into your Google Analytics account
2. View the reports for the website you are tracking
3. On the left navigation column under the category Acquisition, select Campaigns and then All Campaigns
4. Then search for the campaign name you have given your email in Sendtex.
With Google Analytics you will be able track conversions all the way from your Email Campaigns.
- What does "CTOR" mean in the campaign statistics?
The click-to-open rate (CTOR) compares the number of people that opened the email to the number that actually clicked.
For example: you send out two different emails, Email A and Email B. You send each to 100 contacts. No bounces detected so a total of 200 emails were delivered. What are the results?
Email A: of the 100, only 20 people opened the email, and only 10 people clicked.
Email B: of the 100, 50 people opened the email, and 15 people clicked.
If you judge the results based on CTR, A has a score of 10%, but B has a CTR of 15%. Does that mean that Email B was more successful? Not necessarily. If we look at the CTOR of each, we find that Email A’s CTOR is 50% (= 10 clicks / 20 opens), and Email B has a CTOR of only 30% (= 15 clicks / 50 opens).
Email A might have a lower open ratio but half of those opens resulted in a click to your website. Therefore, you can conclude that email A had a more interesting and appealing content which resulted in more website visitors.